Students! Time Management and Gap Years

(Sorry about the late post. I’ve been pretty busy for the past few days.)

I went up to Northland on Thursday, and three or four students came to ask me questions throughout the day. Two of them asked their teacher to let them out of class, so that they could talk to me for an hour. These two were not terribly sure if they wanted to go to college. One of them was pretty set on a technical college because he enjoyed working on physical projects and there are several opportunities in this area for technical work. The other student was a senior and had not applied to college. He told me that he did not know if college would be worth the effort since he did not know what he wanted to do. He knew he could get some jobs in the area without going to college, but he did not know if that was what he wanted. I told him about gap years and how there were community service programs and scholarship/grant opportunities for other students like him. I told both of them that they did not have to go to college straight out of high school and that it was okay to not know exactly what they wanted to do.

They shared a lot with me. I learned a lot about where the animosity towards the Native American students came from for them. They felt like the Native American students were getting more opportunities than them because there was an office of “Indian Education” in the school and they felt like the school valued the Native American students more than them. It was hard to hear them talk about this or respond to their feelings without coming across as judging them, but I think the students are starting to trust me. We switched the conversation to what sort of opportunities they have, and I hope they’re beginning to see how everyone has different options and how we often only see the good things other people have and not everything they’ve been through. I’m not sure they really got it, but I gave them some ideas about reasons to go to college and how to start thinking about their goals and priorities. They said they would come back to talk more.

 

The time management workshop went well too. The student from the other day came in and I got to see how he spent his day via pie charts and hourly schedules. He was really surprised about how little time is spent in class each day at college. We talked about testing too since he had just taken an MCA (I think that’s what he said) and how important the ACT can be for getting scholarships and grants from colleges. I gave him a list of colleges with pretty good environmental studies and biology programs, and also talked to him about coming in and getting some test-prep time since the school doesn’t offer much as far as study skills for juniors and seniors. He was rather excited but also pretty stressed about the tests. I’m going to send them all emails later today with more info about gap years, colleges they might like, and test prep. I’m pretty excited.

About Grrl22

A homeschooled student from Northern Minnesota who loves random bits of knowledge, college, community, and nature.

Leave a Reply

