The final presentations

As a final presentation to conclude Meza, the food group created a recipe book, the music group performed their compositions and the theatre group performed a series of overlapping monologues talking about our journey. For the monologues, we were all sitting in different spots among the audience in darkness, and used flashlights to dramatize the space and focus on the person talking. We performed in different languages- English, Hindi, Hebrew. I had trouble writing my monologue in English, while on switching to Spanish it flowed easily, so I decided to perform mine in Spanish, as many other people were also performing in English despite it not being their first language.

I want to share my monologue as a reflection…

Me voy con mucho que aprender.
En Meza, cuando estamos trabajando y jugando con los demás, hay veces que olvido los temas y las técnicas que usamos. Creo que es importante estar presente y comprometerme con los demás, pero al mismo tiempo, recordar constantemente los temas. No porque los temas sean más importantes que las personas, sino porque los temas marcan nuestros cuerpos y mentes. Creo que cuestionar estas marcas es muy importante para comunicar realmente, y además, qué es arte sin comunicar?
Por mucho tiempo, creí que mi arte era sólo para mí, y pensé que no me gustaba compartirlo o comunicarlo. Pero, recientamente, me di cuenta que aún asi yo creo algo por mí misma, siempre hay un deseo de expresarlo a alguien más, para saber que piensa.
Con Meza, esto cambió, junto con el hecho de darme cuenta que tal vez, puedo ser creativa. Este año, en Meza, me encontré con muchas posibilidades, diferentes maneras de combinar las artes y las cuestiones sociales. Esta experiencia y todo lo que he aprendido de la gente que conocimos, y de los participantes y mentores dirigirá mis decisiones en mi viaje.
Quizas, en este viaje, I will have peeled the onion, o al menos, I will have begun.

The English translation:

I leave with a lot to learn.
In Meza, when we are working and playing with people, sometimes I forget the themes and techniques that we are to employ. I think it is important to be present in the moment, and engage with people, but at the same time, remember constantly the themes. Not because the themes are more important than the people, but because the themes imprint and mark our bodies and minds. It is important to question and subvert these marks in order to truly communicate, and what is art without communication?
For a long time, I thought that my art was only for me, and that I didn’t like to share or communicate it to other people. But, recently, I realized that even when I create something for myself, there’s always a desire to express it to someone else, to know what they think.
With Meza last year, this changed, along with the realization that perhaps, I could be creative. This year in Meza, I found many possibilities, different ways to combine arts and social issues. This experience and all that I have learnt from the people we met, and from participants and mentors will guide my choices in my journey.
Maybe, in this journey, I will have peeled the onion, or at least, I will have begun.

Leave a Reply

